Issue of March 4, 2018
Mt. Province

Panagbenga Flower Festival
Other Links:
PSA honors 4 Baguio athletes for 2017 feats
by Harley F. Palangchao

PSA AWARDS 2018 -- World wushu champion Divine Wally together with three other Baguio world-class athletes were given citation during the annual Philippine Sportswriters Association Awards 2018 at the historic Manila Hotel last week. With her is sister Joan who holds the trophy of MMA star Eduard Folayang. -- Contributed photo

Four world-class athletes from Baguio received citations at the historic Manila Hotel during the annual SMC-Philippine Sportswriters Association Annual Awards for their exploits in 2017.

Countless famous Filipino athletes were shortlisted for the list of citation honorees but only less than 30 were awarded last week.

Conferred the special citations were former ONE lightweight world champion Eduard Folayang, former world wushu champion and 2017 World Wushu bronze medalist Divine Wally, 2017 6th Southeast Asian Open Archery Championship four-gold medalist Kareel Meer Hongitan and 2017 University Games wushu silver medalist.

“We are humbled and honored at the same time to be cited by the PSA and this inspired us to excel in our own sport in the coming years,” said Wally, who also received the citation on behalf of her cousin Folayang and Balangui.

Reigning International Boxing Federation super flyweight champion Jerwin Ancajas, who defended his title three times, led all sports luminaries in the event graced by former broadcaster and sports analyst Agriculture Sec. Manny Piñol.

The other two top honorees were world bowling champion Krizziah Lyn Tabora and world billiards champion Carlo Biado of La Union.

The National Sports Association has chosen the Triathlon Association of the Philippines as this year’s NSA Team of the Year while the 2023 FIBA World Cup Philippine bid team was conferred the President’s Award.

June Mar Fajardo got the Mr. Basketball award while the Mr. and Ms. Volleyball award went to Marck Espejo and Dawn Macandili, respectively. Clyde Mondilla got the Mr. Golf plum.

San Miguel Corp. Chief Ramon S. Ang and Ernesto Echauz were named the Executives of the Year while veteran newsman and former sports editor Augustu “Gus” Villanueva was conferred the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Read more:
Gabutan to see action in Highland Brawl April 6
Eustaquio–Moraes title match might take time
Fun run for special kids slated on March 11 in LT
Flowerfest football set March 17 to 18
Festival fun run in LT set March 10
Gabutan to see action in Highland Brawl April 6

Eustaquio–Moraes title match might take time

Fun run for special kids slated on March 11 in LT

Flowerfest football set March 17 to 18

Festival fun run in LT set March 10

PWU Baguio
Technical Education & Skills Development Authority – CAR
University of Baguio

Baguio Central University
Baguio Country Club
Benguet Electric Cooperative Inc.
Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources – CAR
Congressman Ronald M. Cosalan
Department of Health – CAR
John Hay Management Corporation
National Grid Corporation of the Philippines
New Media Services
Pag–IBIG Fund
Pines City Colleges
Sangguniang Panlungsod

Assumption Medical Diagnostic Center
Baguio Center Mall
Baguio Water District
Choobi Choobi
Congressman Mark O. Go
Councilor Leandro B. Yangot Jr.
Curamed Pharmacy
Department of Environment and Natural Resources – CAR
Department of Public Works and Highways – CAR
Department of Science and Technology
Fabulo Beauty and Image Salon
Far East Pacific Commercial
Filipino–Japanese Foundation of Northern Luzon, Inc.
Ganza & Solibao Restaurants
Gen. Benjie B. Magalong
GMS Technology
Governor Crescencio C. Pacalso
Mayor Mauricio G. Domogan
Mayor Romeo K. Salda
Mother Earth Deli Basket
Nagomi Spa
Narda’s / Sunflower Ridge
Northern Luzon School for the Visually Impaired, Inc.
Our Lady of Mt. Carmel Montessori, Inc.
Philex Mining Corporation
Police Regional Office – CAR
Regional Development Council – CAR and National Economic and Development Authority – CAR
Regional Tripartate Wages and Productivity Board – CAR
SN Aboitiz
Tony Boy Tabora
Veterans Bank

Home | About Us | Editorial Policy | Contact Us  
News | Opinion | Snapshots | Week's Mail | Obituaries  
Copyright © 2007-2015. All Rights Reserved.