Issue of September 10, 2017
Mt. Province

69th Courier Anniversary Issue
Other Links:
Baguio futsal winners bared
by Ofelia C. Empian

The rainy weather did not dampen the mood of the participants for the Baguio Charter Day futsal tournament held from Sept. 1 to 3 at the Baguio City High School gymnasium.

It was an all futsal 5v5 event due to the prevailing weather condition in the city with Quezon Elementary School championing the 8-under category, the youngest category of the annual event as part of the Baguio Day Foundation celebration this month.

Following Quezon ES is the Baguio mix team while special awards were given to Kyle Cruz as the best goalkeeper, Ralph Oredina as best defender, Shiela Delos Reyes as best playmaker and best striker is Ajay Hangdaan in the 8-under category.

Champion in the 10-under category is Crystal Cave A followed by Baguio Central on second place, Crystal Cave B on third while Bakakeng is on fourth place.

Special awards went to Ghaizer Benson leading the awardees as the most valuable player, Johnson Isican as the best goal keeper, best defender is Renan Cabuag, best playmaker is Ian Silva and best striker is Zurich Dalang.

Kirvy Tabelin led the 12-under winners as the most valuable player while Quezon ES once again championed the category followed by Crystal Cave A on second, Crystal Cave B on third and Dona Aurora ES on fourth place.

Joining Tabelin with the special awards are Gandrei Dadcayan as best goalkeeper, Jolly Osdawen as best defender, best playmaker is Daf Lawagan, best striker is Zyrus Sabala, best juggler is John Vincent Calpotura and best freestyle is Ian Silva.

Day two of the event featured the 15-under category with the Candon National High School topping the boys side followed by Baguio City High School C on second while BCHS B, and BCHS A was on third and fourth place, respectively. MVP is Manny Lodevigo, best goalkeeper is Arvin Gasadan, best defender is Jimboy Gramahe, best playmaker is Aeron Tenollar, and best striker is Kobe Gacutan.

On the distaff side, BCHS A championed the category trailed by Candon NHS on second, BCHS B on third and Quirino Hill Phoenix on fourth place. Wilma Valdez is the best goalkeeper, best defender is Kylie Panagan, playmaker is Regina Aliping, best striker is Raven Bungay and Jan Ahliya Malit as the MVP. 

BCHS A topped the 18-under girls while BCHS B placed second, Cordillera Goshenland Football Club placed third and La Union girls placed fourth. Kara Alinsug shone as the MVP, Rowan Bungay as best goalkeeper, Richel Pagaspas as best defender, playmaker is Ahliya Malit, and Regina Aliping as best striker.

The 18-under boys saw City High alumni winning the title, BCHS C placed second, BCHS B on third and QH Phoenix placed fourth. Nissi Dumpayan was awarded the MVP, Denver Comesario as best goalkeeper, Aeron Tenollar was hailed as best defender, Keneth Bobiles as best striker and Keneth Sibaen as best playmaker. 

The last day saw the open category with the Baguio United Football Club A championing the men’s side followed by Hasan A on second, BUFC B on third place and 10th power on fourth place. Joseph Farmson is the MVP, Rolsky Lestino is the best juggler, best in freestyle is Noel Mariscal, best goalkeeper is Gebriel Ahmed, best striker is Rykart Neri, and best playmaker is Azis Rosso.

BCHS is the ladies open champion followed by CGFC PBS, Baguio Ladies and Hakz team in that order. Best juggler and striker is Regina Aliping, best freestyle and best goalkeeper is Rowan Bungay, best defender is Kylie Panagan, best playmaker is Aveya Buenaventura, and MVP is Kara Alinsug.

Read more:
UB’s wushu star wins silver in 2017 Summer Universiade
Baguio hailed for support in annual Milo Olympics
Calpotura, Meria rule 108th Baguio Day golf
Carranza, Abahan power RP team triumph in UTMB
Eustaquio eyes title bout soon
Puruganan, Uyammi top Yamashita run
UB’s wushu star wins silver in 2017 Summer Universiade

Baguio hailed for support in annual Milo Olympics

Calpotura, Meria rule 108th Baguio Day golf

Carranza, Abahan power RP team triumph in UTMB

Eustaquio eyes title bout soon

Puruganan, Uyammi top Yamashita run

Albergo Hotel and Residences
Baguio Country Club
University of Baguio
Venus Parkview Hotel

Baguio Central University
Benguet Electric Cooperative Inc.
Cong. Mark O. Go
Cong. Ronald Cosalan
Department of Education – CAR
Department of Health – CAR
Gov. Crescencio Pacalso
Lepanto Consolidated Mining Company
Narda’s and Sunflower Ridge
National Grid Corporation of the Philippines
Pines City Colleges
Sangguniang Panlungsod
SM City Baguio
University of the Philippines Baguio

Assumption Medical and Diagnostic Center
Baguio Center Mall
Baguio Water District
BSBT College, Inc.
Bureau of Internal Revenue
BVS Colleges
C &Triple A Supermart
Councilor Edgar M. Avila
Curamed Pharmacy
Department of Environment and Natural Resources – CAR
Department of Interior and Local Government – CAR
Department of Public Works and Highways – CAR
Fabulo Beauty and Image Salon
Far East Pacific Commercial
Filipino–Japanese Foundation of Northern Luzon, Inc.
GMS Technology
John Hay Management Corporation
King’s College of the Philippines
La Funeraria Paz, Inc.
Mayor Mauricio G. Domogan
Mother Earth Deli Basket
Overseas Workers Welfare Administration – CAR
Philex Mining Corporation
Police Regional Office – CAR
STI Baguio

Home | About Us | Editorial Policy | Contact Us  
News | Opinion | Snapshots | Week's Mail | Obituaries  
Copyright © 2007-2015. All Rights Reserved.