Issue of December 3, 2017

Panagbenga Flower Festival
Other Links:
14th YMCA basketball tourney ends w/ a bang
by Press release

YMCA BASKETBALL -- The championship trophy for Bracket C has been conferred to the team members and coaching staff of Inatech Computer Services by YMCA President Jerome Gawidan at the close of the 14th YMCA basketball tournament last week. -- Contributed photo

The almost four-month long hostilities at the Baguio YMCA gym ended with a bang when Dos Republic shocked the fancied Monday Ballclub in a 95-91 nail-biter during their championship match on Nov. 29 to bring the Bracket “M” crown “UpNorth.” 

Finishing the elimination round at number three, Dos Republic’s/UpNorth’s Aris Osbucan, Joseph Cacdac, Zen Humilde, and Paul Catbagan scored a huge upset when they overcame the two-to-beat advantage of the NelvinTurtoga-Harris Dulay led Team Reserves in the semi-finals with both games won in similar come-from-behind fashion.

In the finals though, Dos Republic’s young guns showed they have grown to maturity. 

Despite finishing second, Billy Tolentino of Monday Ballclub emerged as the MVP with Team Falcons completing the top three in Bracket M.

After the game, the awarding of trophies for the winners followed with YMCA Board Director Pastor Robert Sison thanking the 34 participating teams in four-brackets for their participation and for their contribution in the YMCA’s program of promoting sports, in this instance – basketball – according to the international organization’s ideals of developing a person’s mind, body, and spirit with Christian principles.

Local YMCA Ge-neral Secretary Aida Aquino along with President Jerome Gawidan, Treasu-rer Jeff Pakias, and Sports Chair Marlon Tabdi presented the trophies Bracket Y champion Ruiz Optical followed by Beneco Voltz and Dope Team in that order with Johnny Pascual of Beneco Voltz as MVP.

Bracket C champion went to Inatech Computer Services with Stringers and Kuya Ponz Catering Services as first and second runners-up, respectively. Arvin Amazona is the bracket MVP.

The BGHMC-Employees Multipurpose Cooperative topped Bracket with Vonn Carlowe Padilla as MVP while the team was trailed by Commission on Elections-CAR and Spears Basketball.

The YMCA Friendship Cup Trophy was awarded to the University of the Philippines Baguio Team, which was considered by the organizers as the most prestigious award as this is given to a most special team, to one team chosen from all the participating teams and the team that represents the aforementioned ideals of the YMCA in its’ program to promote sports.

Read more:
PHL teams defend titles, as 68th Fil–Am golf opens
Boxing pride of Ifugao is new PBF champion
Anton gets 10th overall win, preps for 8–hr race
Igorot wrestlers win bronze in VT
Mendoza eyes win in ASEAN chess tilt
PHL teams defend titles, as 68th Fil–Am golf opens

Boxing pride of Ifugao is new PBF champion

Anton gets 10th overall win, preps for 8–hr race

Igorot wrestlers win bronze in VT

Mendoza eyes win in ASEAN chess tilt

Albergo Hotel and Residences
Baguio Country Club
University of Baguio
Venus Parkview Hotel

Baguio Central University
Benguet Electric Cooperative Inc.
Cong. Mark O. Go
Cong. Ronald Cosalan
Department of Education – CAR
Department of Health – CAR
Gov. Crescencio Pacalso
Lepanto Consolidated Mining Company
Narda’s and Sunflower Ridge
National Grid Corporation of the Philippines
Pines City Colleges
Sangguniang Panlungsod
SM City Baguio
University of the Philippines Baguio

Assumption Medical and Diagnostic Center
Baguio Center Mall
Baguio Water District
BSBT College, Inc.
Bureau of Internal Revenue
BVS Colleges
C &Triple A Supermart
Councilor Edgar M. Avila
Curamed Pharmacy
Department of Environment and Natural Resources – CAR
Department of Interior and Local Government – CAR
Department of Public Works and Highways – CAR
Fabulo Beauty and Image Salon
Far East Pacific Commercial
Filipino–Japanese Foundation of Northern Luzon, Inc.
GMS Technology
John Hay Management Corporation
King’s College of the Philippines
La Funeraria Paz, Inc.
Mayor Mauricio G. Domogan
Mother Earth Deli Basket
Overseas Workers Welfare Administration – CAR
Philex Mining Corporation
Police Regional Office – CAR
STI Baguio

Home | About Us | Editorial Policy | Contact Us  
News | Opinion | Snapshots | Week's Mail | Obituaries  
Copyright © 2007-2015. All Rights Reserved.