Issue of May 13, 2018

70th Courier Anniversary Issue
Other Links:
Gawad Kalasag 2018 selection committee reveals 17 winners
by Press release

Seventeen winners of the search for excellence in disaster risk reduction and management (DRRM), and humanitarian assistance are set to be recognized by the Cordillera Gawad KALASAG Regional Selection Committee (RSC).

Mountain Province remains the best provincial DRRM council, for three consecutive years now. Under the municipal DRRM council (1st to 3rd class) category, the La Trinidad MDRRMC in Benguet remains undefeated while the municipality of Buguias, also in Benguet, is ranked second and Luna in Apayao ranked third.

Bucay  in Abra, a first-time entrant, is the sole winner under Best MDRRMC (4th to 6th class) category.

For the first time, the RSC is recognizing two barangays, namely Ambiong and Puguis, both of La Trinidad, first and second, respectively.

Also consistent in bagging a Gawad KALASAG award is the University of the Cordilleras, competing under the higher education Institution category.

Among the winners are six public schools in Mountain Province and Benguet. For public elementary schools category, Paoad Elementary School in Tublay wins along with Mount Data ES in Bauko as second and Cagubatan ES in Tadian in third place.

Under public high school category, Lepanto National High School in Mankayan is the best school together with Banguitan National HS in Besao, ranked second; while Mil-an National HS gets the third spot.

Two volunteer organizations will be recognized for their preparedness and response efforts.

Ranked as first is the Loacan Health Emergency Response Team from Itogon, Benguet and  ranked second is Baguio City’s 911 On-Call.

The RSC will also give special recognition to the Itogon Municipal Health Services Office under government emergency management services category.

Civil Defense Cordillera Director Andrew Alex Uy said the regional winners are entitled to receive plaques of recognition and cash incentives to be spent for their DRRM-related programs.

First placers will receive P50,000; P30,000 for second placers; and third placers will get P15,000.

National  awardees shall receive plaques and monetary awards, as follows: P500,000 for winners; two nominees under local DRRMC category will get P200,000; winners under other categories shall receive P300,000 while two nominees for each category will be given P100,000.

All regional first placers will be representing the Cordillera in the national level.

Your Ad Here

OTC seeks support for transport upgrade

DILG proposes passage of law requiring candidates’ drug test

NGCP assures reliable power on May 14

Roll out crucial energy projs to move faster now, says Cusi

PWU Baguio
Technical Education & Skills Development Authority – CAR
University of Baguio

Baguio Central University
Baguio Country Club
Benguet Electric Cooperative Inc.
Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources – CAR
Congressman Ronald M. Cosalan
Department of Health – CAR
John Hay Management Corporation
National Grid Corporation of the Philippines
New Media Services
Pag–IBIG Fund
Pines City Colleges
Sangguniang Panlungsod

Assumption Medical Diagnostic Center
Baguio Center Mall
Baguio Water District
Choobi Choobi
Congressman Mark O. Go
Councilor Leandro B. Yangot Jr.
Curamed Pharmacy
Department of Environment and Natural Resources – CAR
Department of Public Works and Highways – CAR
Department of Science and Technology
Fabulo Beauty and Image Salon
Far East Pacific Commercial
Filipino–Japanese Foundation of Northern Luzon, Inc.
Ganza & Solibao Restaurants
Gen. Benjie B. Magalong
GMS Technology
Governor Crescencio C. Pacalso
Mayor Mauricio G. Domogan
Mayor Romeo K. Salda
Mother Earth Deli Basket
Nagomi Spa
Narda’s / Sunflower Ridge
Northern Luzon School for the Visually Impaired, Inc.
Our Lady of Mt. Carmel Montessori, Inc.
Philex Mining Corporation
Police Regional Office – CAR
Regional Development Council – CAR and National Economic and Development Authority – CAR
Regional Tripartate Wages and Productivity Board – CAR
SN Aboitiz
Tony Boy Tabora
Veterans Bank

Home | About Us | Editorial Policy | Contact Us  
News | Opinion | Snapshots | Week's Mail | Obituaries  
Copyright © 2007-2015. All Rights Reserved.