Issue of May 5, 2019

Other Links:
MPSPC faculty conferred 2019 outstanding leadership plum
by Annie Grail F. Ekid

A faculty member of the Mountain Province State Polytechnic College (MPSPC) was bestowed the 2019 Outstanding Graduate Leadership Award during the College of Education (COE) Recognition Dinner 2019 held at the University of Florida Hilton Conference Center in California, U.S.A.

Mark Preston S. Lopez, a Fulbright scholar and a faculty of the Teacher Education Department of MPSPC, was chosen after a rigorous evaluation of a list of nominations for the outstanding leadership award.

Based on the correspondence from COE Dean Dr. Glenn Good, Lopez was chosen for “exemplifying the finest attributes of service, leadership, and professional preparation” as evidence of his eligibility for the award.

Two other awards in the graduate level, the Outstanding Graduate Professional Practice award and the Outstanding Graduate Research award, were conferred to Philip Daniels and Wilhelmina Van Dijk, both from the School of Special Education, Psychology, and Early Childhood Studies.

Lopez is from the School of Teaching and Learning (STL).

Three faculty members, including Lopez’s academic advisor, wrote letters in support of his nomination for the leadership award.

His main nominator was Dr. Albert Ritzhaupt, the associate director for Graduate Studies in STL and the current advisor of the Student Alliance of Graduates in Education (SAGE). Dr. Maria Coady and Dr. Anne Corinne Huggins-Manley submitted their respective letters of support, outlining the reasons why Lopez should be given the award.

In his main nomination letter, Ritzhaupt wrote: “Mr. Lopez is faithfully serving as the president of SAGE this academic year, and in this role, I have observed his commitment to the intellectual and diverse culture in the COE community. In this capacity, Mr. Lopez has coordinated a series of relevant workshops for the COE community, refreshed, and launched the new SAGE website, and provided guidance and leadership in the planning and implementation of this year’s COE Symposium. Mr. Lopez has clearly demonstrated a strong commitment to service and leadership for the betterment of the COE community.”

A winner of the Alec Courtelis Award, Ritzhaupt said Lopez is recognized for contributions beyond his role as SAGE president. During his short tenure at University of Florida, he served as a highly competent and qualified teaching assistant and research assistant in the ESOL program, and has contributed to the growth of teachers and students in Levy County.
However, Lopez’s accomplishments are not merely in the realm of service, he has also worked tirelessly with his major professor – Coady – on six peer-reviewed journal articles in leading journals in his field, like TESOL Quarterly, International Journal of TESOL, International Journal of Multilingualism, and over 15 peer-reviewed presentations at state, national, and international conferences.

Ritzhaupt pointed out that Lopez has also received accolades for his research contributions, including the International Fellowships Program Alumni Award from the Institute of International Education.

“In my assessment, Mr. Lopez is a well-rounded scholar,” Ritzhaupt said.

In 2018, Lopez was awarded the International Student Certificate of Excellence and was recognized for taking the lead role in coordinating the COE Research Symposium 2019.

His research paper also won the Best Paper award during the 2018 COE Symposium.

Lopez is currently writing his dissertation on teachers’ culturally and linguistically responsive teaching and hopes to complete his degree this summer. He plans to return to the Philippines after graduation and continue teaching at the MPSPC.

Your Ad Here

Bayokbok Falls attracts tourists to visit Tublay

PDEA to give dogs for adoption

NCCA calls for strengthening of Filipino as national language

TESDA recognizes six TVIs, awardees

Davao-based Igorots welcome CAR athletes

UP Baguio to host lecture on IP justice

Volunteers form group that teaches art to youth

Farm tool turned attraction: The Banaue wooden scooters

Must try: Tapey ice cream

Street dancing closes MPSPC golden anniversary celebration

Manila FAME honors artisans, designers in Katha Awards

‘Youth vote can spell leadership change’

Philippine National Police – Police Regional Office – CAR
R.A Gapuz Review Center

Baguio Central University
Baguio Country Club
Benguet Electric Cooperative Inc.
Congressman Mark Go
Data Center of the Philippines of Baguio City, Inc.
Department of Health – CAR
Kings’ College of the Philippines
Mayor Benjamin B. Magalong
Pines City Colleges
Sangguniang Panlungsod
SM City Baguio
Social Security System
Veterans Bank

Albergo Hotel and Residences
Baguio Center Mall
Baguio Water District
C & Triple A Supermart
Congressman Nestor B. Fongwan
Curamed Pharmacy
Department of Agriculture – CAR
Department of Environment and Natural Resources – CAR
Ganza & Solibao Restaurants
GMS Technology
Governor Melchor D. Diclas
John Hay Management Corporation
Mayor Romeo K. Salda
MMS Development Training Center Corporatino
Mother Earth Deli Basket
Philipppine Science High School
Regional Development Council – CAR
Home | About Us | Editorial Policy | Contact Us  
News | Opinion | Snapshots | Week's Mail | Obituaries  
Copyright © 2007-2015. All Rights Reserved.