Issue of August 5, 2018
Mt. Province

Panagbenga Flower Festival
Other Links:
Lawana remains as ABC prexy after landslide victory
by Ryan Dale Mangusan

SWEEP -- The new set of officials of the Association of Barangay Council-Baguio chapter led by reelected president Michael Lawana and vice president Wilbert Ponce were inducted by Mayor Mauricio Domogan, a day after the ABC elections at the DILG office last week. The other elected officials are Murphy Maspil as auditor and Genesis Gallente, James Doligas, William Regacho, Nick Nialla, Van Dicang, Miguel Arrnaiz, Elsie Tindoc and Arnold Alimbuyao as board of directors. -- Ryan Dale Mangusan

Incumbent Association of Barangay Council President Michael Lee Lawana of Lower Dagsian retained his post by garnering a commanding 119 votes during the ABC elections on July 30.

Lawana, a mining engineer by profession, enjoyed a lopsided victory over his lone rival, Punong Barangay Virgilio Orca Jr. of North Sanitary Camp, who got nine votes. He is the first ABC president to garner more than 100 votes.

Former ABC president and Councilor Leandro Yangot, Jr. used to hold the highest number of votes with 86 votes and the rest of the votes going to four other contenders.

Incumbent ABC Vice President Wilbert Ponce of Andres Bonifacio was likewise reelected with 117 votes, a runaway winner over Eva Marie Fianza of Happy Homes-Old Lucban who had 10 votes.

Holy Ghost Proper PB Murphy Maspil Sr. also retained his post as auditor with 116 votes over Lopez Jaena PB Carlos Asiatico who had 11 votes.

Eight barangay chiefs who ran under the Lawana-Ponce “DVOICE” team also won the seats for the eight-man board of directors. DVOICE stands for Dynamic, Values Oriented, Interdependent Council of Executives of the ABC.

Most presidents of the ABC were former directors of the Benguet Electric Cooperative, including Rocky Aliping who sat as ABC president when then ABC president Joel Alangsab won a regular seat in the city council.

The winning directors in order are Ignacio Gallente of Middle Quirino Hill with 122 votes; James Doligas of Brookspoint with 112 votes; William Regacho of Trancoville with 109 votes; Nick Nialla of San Antonio Village with 107 votes; Van Oliver Dicang of Lower Quirino Hill with 106 votes; Miguel Arnaiz of Outlook Drive with 102 votes; Elsie Magdalene Tindoc of Manuel Roxas with 101 votes, and Arnold Alimbuyao of T. Alonzo with 99 votes.

The last time the ABC-Baguio had its election was on Dec. 16, 2013.

Among the projects and programs implemented by the ABC during the officials’ five-year term include continuation of past programs of the ABC; empowerment of a democratic, consultative and participatory leadership; and assistance to other barangays on budget preparation, legal, financial, educational, and livelihood programs.

ABC also greatly helped in the peace and order campaign in various barangays through donation of motorcycles and other logistics to the various stations of the Baguio City Police Office.

Lawana said a number of elected PBs are new to the position which is why ABC will tap experts on barangay governance as part of the continuing education among village chiefs to improve their leadership skills.

The new set of ABC officials took their oath of office before City Mayor Mauricio Domogan last week.

Your Ad Here

City council backs jeep drivers’ plea for release of fuel subsidy

Baguio, Tuba seek settlement of long-time boundary dispute

No. coding’s window period to be tested

P5 million proposed to improve city roads

Localized law to rid city of mendicants filed at council

City to earn P1/kwh from Asin hydro

PWU Baguio
Technical Education & Skills Development Authority – CAR
University of Baguio

Baguio Central University
Baguio Country Club
Benguet Electric Cooperative Inc.
Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources – CAR
Congressman Ronald M. Cosalan
Department of Health – CAR
John Hay Management Corporation
National Grid Corporation of the Philippines
New Media Services
Pag–IBIG Fund
Pines City Colleges
Sangguniang Panlungsod

Assumption Medical Diagnostic Center
Baguio Center Mall
Baguio Water District
Choobi Choobi
Congressman Mark O. Go
Councilor Leandro B. Yangot Jr.
Curamed Pharmacy
Department of Environment and Natural Resources – CAR
Department of Public Works and Highways – CAR
Department of Science and Technology
Fabulo Beauty and Image Salon
Far East Pacific Commercial
Filipino–Japanese Foundation of Northern Luzon, Inc.
Ganza & Solibao Restaurants
Gen. Benjie B. Magalong
GMS Technology
Governor Crescencio C. Pacalso
Mayor Mauricio G. Domogan
Mayor Romeo K. Salda
Mother Earth Deli Basket
Nagomi Spa
Narda’s / Sunflower Ridge
Northern Luzon School for the Visually Impaired, Inc.
Our Lady of Mt. Carmel Montessori, Inc.
Philex Mining Corporation
Police Regional Office – CAR
Regional Development Council – CAR and National Economic and Development Authority – CAR
Regional Tripartate Wages and Productivity Board – CAR
SN Aboitiz
Tony Boy Tabora
Veterans Bank
Home | About Us | Editorial Policy | Contact Us  
News | Opinion | Snapshots | Week's Mail | Obituaries  
Copyright © 2007-2015. All Rights Reserved.