Issue of June 18, 2017

Plus Juan
Other Links:
Golden Kayabang Awardees honored in LT’s founding day
by Alexa M. Yadao

GOLDEN KAYABANG AWARDEES -- For their outstanding performance in the community service, seven individuals and institutions were chosen as this year’s Golden Kayabang awardees during the 67th foundation anniversary of La Trinidad. The honorees are (seated from l) former mayor Edna Tabanda represented by Shirley Daniel, Calajo Restaurant, Khyla Kreanzzel B. Guinto, Dr. Imelda P. Olatic-Degay, Orly T. Primo, Stobosa Women’s Brigade represented by Gloria Agasen, and the Benguet State University Multipurpose Cooperative. The awardees were conferred the award by local officials led by Mayor Romeo Salda and Rep. Harry Roque on June 16. -- Ofelia Empian


Individuals and organizations from different sectors were awarded the prestigious Golden Kayabang Awards by the Municipality of La Trinidad during its 67th foundation day on June 16.

The annual award recognizes individuals and/or organizations that rendered services to, and for embodying the ideals valued by the municipality.

The seven Golden Kayabang awardees are former mayor Edna C. Tabanda from the women sector, Orly T. Primo from the youth sector, Dr. Imelda P. Olatic-Degay from the academe, Khyla Kreanzzel B. Guinto for sports, the Calajo restaurant from the business sector, the Stobosa Women’s Brigade for the civil society organization, and the Benguet State University Multipurpose Cooperative for the cooperative.

Tabanda gained the title of “Ina ti Ili” for actively promoting the rights and welfare of women, children, and indigenous peoples and for delivering social services to the marginalized sectors.

Primo, a graduate of Benguet State University, was awarded for his excellence in academics as well as his active participation in other activities while Dr. Olatic-Degay, a faculty member of the BSU College of Home Economics and Technology, was recognized for her research in the field of Nutrition and Dietetics that contributed to the enhancement of health and wellbeing of children.

Multi-awarded athlete Guinto, a grade five student at Hope Christian Academy received various local and national awards in taekwondo.

The Calajo restaurant, meanwhile, was awarded due to its employees’ embodiment of the municipality’s values of friendliness, hospitality, and communitarianism by providing a place of clean and affordable food; the Stobosa (Stonehill-Botiwtiw-Sajap) Women’s Brigade for their volunteerism in furthering the tourism efforts of La Trinidad due to their role in the accomplishment of the Stobosa Rev Bloom Project; and the BSU-MPC for its contributions to the well-being and empowerment of its members.

The Golden Kayabang awards is one of the highlights of the foundation day celebration. Kayabang is a local basket used to contain agricultural products.

Special awards were also given to individual and group nominees. The awardees were Ernesto E. Dongbo, Jumelyn P. Buya, and Vecker N. Tero from the agriculture sector; Raul P. Dagdagan Jr. and Jhazel B. Villena from the youth sector; Catherine C. Pilapil from the Women sector; Arnulfo B. Pagaduan for Public service; the Barangay Alapang Multipurpose Cooperative Domestic Water Service from the business sector; and Alapang Women’s Organization.

Aside from these, posthumous awards were given to Sr/Insp. Gednat G. Tabdi, PO2 Jerry D. Kayob, PO2 Tirso A. Mantalaba, and Cpt. John M. Bayao Jr, which were received by their family members.

Other special awards given were the Municipal Disaster Risk Reduction Award given to the La Trinidad Accredited Community Disaster Volunteers; the Agricultural Learning Sites Award given to Lily of the Valley Organic Farm owned by Jefferson C. Laruan, Cosmic Farm of Rogel A. Marsan, and the AAU Organic farm of Agnes S. Aayo; and the sangguniang bayan awards, which were given to Romeo A. Kimbungan, Yoshio P. Labi, Abner O. Lawangen, Sherilyn B. Balauro, Sr./Insp. Jenelyn M. Kiwingan, and Judge Delilah Gonzales-Muñoz.

The theme for this year’s La Trinidad Foundation Day is “La Trinidad: Where unity and friendship find home.”

Your Ad Here

P99.6 M free tuition fee covers all BSU students for 2017–2018

La Trinidad honors bravery of troops

Department of Tourism – CAR
Informatics College
King’ College of the Philippines
University of Baguio

Baguio Country Club
Benguet Electric Coooperative, Inc.
Department of Health – CAR
Department of Labor and Employment – CAR
Mayor Mauricio G. Domogan
Mayor Romeo K. Salda
National Grid Corporation of the Philippines
Philex Mining Corporation
Philippine Information Agency – CAR
Philippine Veterans Bank
Pines City Colleges
Saint Louis University
Sangguniang Panlalawigan of Benguet
Sangguniang Panlungsod ng Baguio

AHEAD Tutorial and Review
Assumption Medical and Diagnostic Center
Baguio Center Mall
Baguio Central University
Baguio Multicultural Institute
Baguio Water District
Bureau of Jail Management and Penology
C & AAA Supermart
Congressman Mark O. Go
Congressman Ronald M. Cosalan
Cordillera Kidney Specialists, Inc.
Cordillera School of Digital Arts
Department of Agriculture – CAR
Department of Environment and Natural Resources – CAR
Department of Public Works and Highways – CAR
Department of Trade and Industry – CAR
Department of Transportation – CAR
Dreamforce Review and Training Center
Fabulo Beauty and Image Salon
Far East Pacific Commercial
Filipino–Japanese Foundation of Northern Luzon, Inc.
FOX Visus Immigration Consultancy
GMS Technology
Lepanto Consolidated Mining Company
Mother Earth Deli Basket
National Telecommunications Commission
Overseas Workers Welfare Administration – CAR
R.A. Gapuz Review Center, Inc.
Regional Tripartite Wages and Productivity Board – CAR
Rianella Printing Press
Social Security System
Solibao – Ganza Restaurant

Home | About Us | Editorial Policy | Contact Us
News | Opinion | Snapshots | Week's Mail | Obituaries
Copyright © 2007-2015. All Rights Reserved.